1. Tea, not coffee: The biggest discovery I made this month was that the best way to keep myself energized is not to drink cup after cup of coffee (as I’ve literally been doing for years, to the effect of crashes / jitters / 1 hour of energy followed by hours of this weird limbo state), but to drink tea! Better yet, green tea. The secret here is to drink more than 1 cup of tea – if you’re like me, one cup won’t cut it, but if you keep sipping on throughout the day (and especially through the difficult afternoons), you’ll be rewarded with a consistent, no side-effects energy kick.
    Image result for tazo green tips
    My favorite tea of choice has been the Tazo Green Tips tea (really only because my office upgraded from our Lipton bags)
  2. Tidying Up with Marie Kondo

    Image result for tidying up with Marie Kondo
    Yes, like much of the country I got completely sucked into this, and marathoned the whole thing over the span of two days (while organizing my house). I don’t usually like procedural, HGTV style shows, but this one was just so charming and cheerful to watch. It also inspires you to clean and organize your house, which is never a bad thing. She’s also so adorable, and despite not really speaking much on the show, carries it and brings it such warmth.
  3. Project 62 Madrot Glass Globe Floor Lamp from Target

Menlo Glass Globe Floor Lamp - Project 62™ - image 2 of 4

After watching the Tidying Up show, I’ve decided my new policy is all about buying functional items that give me joy, rather than just cheap and unenjoyable things as I’ve done all of my college and adult life. That said, I’m living in a rental and don’t want to go all out buying expensive furniture items that I may need to donate or move. This lamp is perfect – it’s no ridiculously pricey (especially if you can get on sale as I did), and it’s so gorgeous. I just like looking at it, even if I could have gotten by without another lamp in my space.

4. LED lightbulbs 60w Vintage G40 Globe Filament Amber LED Light Bulb White - General Electric - image 2 of 2
I discovered this while shopping for my lamp above. I’m still using the old-school spiral, mercury-filled CFLs through most of my house, and realize there is a much safer and more fashionable option now for energy efficient bulbs. I purchased one from GE that’s vintage style (and looks like an old-school incandescent bulb but is super efficient and long-lasting), and while I’ll have to exchange that for a smaller one, the revelation that these bulbs exist is simply life-changing. No more being afraid of breaking my bulbs or figuring out how to dispose of them safely in trying to be energy efficient! And bonus that they look great too.

5. 99 Flavor Taste all-you-can-eat hotpot

I finally got a chance to go to an all-you-can-eat hotpot in the city, and must say I’m a big fan. It’s almost overwhelming to look through the menu and decide at first, but nothing is more satisfying or fun on a cold day. At $22.99, it’s also quite a decent price for NYC.