Tags

,

2013-07-27 10.47.22

One of my coworkers let me know of the $99 3-hour workshops Le Cordon Bleu hosts on Saturdays. Intrigued, especially since I’m a Masterchef fan, I signed up for one last weekend. The theme was “A Taste of Spain” and all in all I was pleasantly surprised.school

The course took place at their Pasadena cooking school, which is across the street from their restaurant “Technique.”

We made four dishes total:

1. Gazpacho

2. Patatas Bravas – essentially fried potato wedges coated with a spicy tomato sauce

3. Gambas al Ajillo – shrimp sauteed with olive oil, garlic, red pepper flakes, and cognac. Definitely the star. Delicious.

4. Churros

demonstration

The class starts with the head chef demonstrating the cooking method for all four dishes upfront, and offering tastes as he finishes each. We were then let loose to cook our own versions.

2013-07-27 10.51.32

Tip: Bring a bag. They have disposable containers for you to put your cooked food in (and trust me, you’ll have A LOT), but no bags to carry them out with. You can also bring your own reusable containers to save on waste.

Overall I thought it was great. I went home with an apron, some basic skills in cooking, 2 tubs of gazpacho and four containers with all of the other dishes. Definitely recommended if you have a few hours on the weekend.

