20130211_080437

Seriously, what is it? I’m on the prowl for something effective but tasty. Lately I’ve been trying out different teas, as I find they have less of a “crash” effect than coffee. I also just enjoy tea for the relaxation and flavor (hence the seasonal ones above), and would love to hear your general recommendations. Here are my thoughts on previous items I’ve tried:

Tazo Awake

This is what I’m currently obsessed with. It is kind of pricey for a simple black breakfast tea, BUT it totally works. Maybe not all day, but definitely a good long stretch of it. Nice, bold taste that isn’t overpowering.

Kombucha

Basically, it’s tea with live bacteria (or “probiotics”) which is supposed to help your digestion. I like the taste, as it’s naturally carbonated and resembles a sparkling juice. Downsides: I didn’t experience the proclaimed benefits, and it’s not the kind of thing you drink to stay awake (lasts about 2 hours).

Celestial Seasonings Sweet Harvest Pumpkin

The flavor resembles Chai, due to all the seasonings. I can’t really taste the pumpkin, but it’s flavorful and nice nonetheless. Problem is again, not that effective (at least compared to Awake).

Tazo Chai

This is definitely one of the best-tasting Chais I’ve had from a tea bag. But again, not even close to Awake in lasting power.

Guayaki Yerba Mate

Yerba Mate is supposedly the healthiest form of caffeine available. I had a professor who would drink a bottle of this everyday. I’ve tried the tea bags and the prepared drinks, and have had mixed results. The first few times, it was pretty effective, but did wear off after a few hours. Later on, it pretty much didn’t work at all.

Starbucks Blonde Roast Coffee

This is the only ground coffee I’ve ever purchased, and I actually like it. Supposedly, lighter blends are actually richer in caffeine (according to the promo materials). I like that it works and isn’t super acidic, unlike cheaper brands such as Folgers. But as mentioned, coffee gives me jitters and this wasn’t an exception.

 

I know, it’s possible that I’m becoming completely immune to caffeine, which is unfortunate considering how much I need it to stay awake. But I still enjoy just sitting with a warm drink.

BTW, I used to not be able to stand teas, but I’ve learned that the trick is to steep it for shorter periods. Depends on your tolerance, but I typically do about 20 seconds. Otherwise it can give me a stomachache or general ill feeling, which is from the tannins that are released as it steeps. Try this if you’ve had the same problem!

