Whew, this year was eventful but still feels like it flew by. Time now to share my favorites of 2012, including everything from cosmetics to food and film:

Favorite eye cream: Mario Badescu Hyaluronic Eye Cream

Hyaluronic Eye Cream

I have dry skin, especially around the eyes, which is the one area I’m most cautious with. I’ve tried numerous products, from Lancome’s eye serum to Shiseido’s bioperformance, but most still leave my eyes feeling dry at night. This is my favorite, and I think is a pretty good deal at $18 for a generously sized container.

Favorite fragrance: Chanel Chance Eau Tendre

Chance Eau Tendre CHANCE EAU TENDRE

I’ve tried more fragrances than I can remember this year, but the one I continually return to is this. It’s one of those scents that never gets overpowering or redundant for me. I personally love the light sweetness of it, and my only wish is that the bottle was a bit more interesting.

Favorite facial moisturizer: Tarte Maracuja Oil

pure maracuja oil -

This is actually a new product trial for me, but so far it’s been fantastic. I’m tired of the chemically-smelling, drying creams. I’m not sure this will do much in terms of alleviating fine lines, but it’s great at hydration and leaving my face feeling moisturized but not greasy (I only use 2 drops at a time). I do layer on a night cream afterwards for winter nights, but this is definitely the first step in my routine.

Favorite chapstick: EOS lipbalms

drugstore

Where has this been all my life??? So many chapped situations that could have been eliminated. I just discovered that the Lemon Drop flavor has SPF 15, and am going to try this. It smells delicious, and since lemons are my favorite scent/taste ever, this is already a score. On my wishlist is the summer fruit flavor, but I’m trying to stop hoarding these.

Favorite glitter nail polish: Sephora by OPI’s Looks Like Rain Dear

I’m so sad this is apparently no longer available! It’s such a pretty, opaque gold shimmery glitter with lots of dimension. Perfect for New Year’s parties.

Favorite pre-packed meal: Trader Joe’s Lemon Chicken Salad

3b218944215d11e29f00123138045995_7

Random category, but this is sooo good that it deserves to make it on the list. I’ve gone through and tried most all the meal items that Trader Joe’s has to offer, and for the price and quality I don’t think you can beat this. It’s like a chicken salad with assorted greens, some grapes, and apple slices. Well-balanced and delicious.

Favorite vitamins: Vitafusion Women’s Gummy Vitamins

vis

This was the year of the gummy vitamin. Those of you who hate taking your daily vitamin, or are left nauseous afterwards need to take a look at these. Mmm.

Favorite Movie: Skyfall

A caveat – I haven’t watched all of the new movies that just came out (Les Miserables, Life of Pi, Silver Linings Playbook), but of those I did watch, Skyfall is my favorite. That doesn’t mean it stands up to analysis, for the plot holes were undeniably huge, but it was a beauty to see and a lovely couple hours of entertainment.

Favorite TV show: Mad Men

It was an exciting season, and this is one show that keeps getting better. Can’t wait for season 6!

Favorite Song: Payphone by Maroon 5

Great song that didn’t get overplayed to death. Actually, it might not be my favorite, but it does stand out in a year of high-hype but low-quality music.

Happy New Years to everyone!

